Title VI

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 is the Federal law that protects individuals from discrimination on the basis of their race, color, or national origin in programs that receive Federal financial assistance.

Another important facet of Title VI involves providing meaningful access to programs and services for individuals that are considered to have Limited English Proficiency.

Title VII

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, forbids discrimination in all areas of the employer-employee relationship, from advertisement for new employees through termination or retirement, on the basis of race, color, sex (including pregnancy, and sexual harassment), religion, and national origin.


Protected Categories Under Civil Rights Laws

  • Age
  • Color
  • Disability
  • Domestic/Romantic/Dating Violence
  • Gender: (Male/Female)
  • Gender Identity/Gender Expression
  • Medical Condition/FMLA
  • National Origin
  • Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry
  • Religion
  • Retaliation
  • Sexual Harassment/Sexual Misconduct
  • Sexual Assault (including non-consensual sex)
  • Stalking
  • Sexual Orientation
  • Veteran Status/Military Status